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PHARMACY BENEFIT MANAGER

What is considered a pharmacy benefit manager (PBM)?

Definition can be found at KRS 304.9-020 or KRS 304.17A-161.

Kentucky defines a PBM as:
"Pharmacy benefit manager" means an entity that, on behalf of a health benefit plan, state agency,
insurer, managed care organization providing services under KRS Chapter 304, or other third-party
payor:

(a) Contracts directly or indirectly with pharmacies to provide prescription drugs to individuals;
(b) Administers a prescription drug benefit;
(c) Processes or pays pharmacy claims;
(d) Creates or updates prescription drug formularies;
(e) Makes or assists in making prior authorization determinations on prescription drugs;
(f) Administers rebates on prescription drugs; or
(g) Establishes a pharmacy network.

KRS 304.17A-161 defines “maximum allowable cost” to mean, “the maximum amount that a pharmacy

benefit manager will reimburse a pharmacy for the cost of a generic drug and does not include a

dispensing or professional fee”. The Department recognizes that there are different pricing

methodologies for generic drugs including but not limited to MAC pricing. However, the statutory

definition is not limited to a specific pricing methodology. Rather, it is broadly defined to reference the

reimbursement amount for a generic drug.

Does every PBM require a license?

Yes. Effective January 1, 2017, every PBM must have a license to operate in Kentucky.

What happens if a PBM doing business in Kentucky does not have a Kentucky issued PBM license?

The PBM will not be authorized to operate in Kentucky until proper license is obtained; and is subject to
a fine of up to $10,000 per violation, per KRS 304.99-020 and KRS 304.99-025.

APPLICATION

Where can I find the PBM License Application?

Direct link for the Pharmacy Benefit Manager License Application can be found at the following link:
http://insurance.ky.gov/ppc/Documents/DOI_PBMLicenseApplication2020.pdf.

What should accompany the PBM License application?

A fee of one thousand dollars ($1,000), made payable to the Kentucky State Treasurer, must accompany

the annual application. The fee may also be paid through your eServices account. If the application is
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submitted after March 31st an additional penalty fee of five hundred dollars ($500) should be included.

To pay application fees through eServices, a “Business Entity – License Administrator” account is

required. Pay these fees under “License Renewal” from the menu. If license renewal is not

completed by 3/31 each year, a penalty fee of $500 is applied.

An application is incomplete, (lacking information that has been requested by the

Department or information that was not included in the original submission for the year,

including any subsequent requests for additional information). If the Department has not

received all renewal information by 5/31, the license will expire, with retroactive date of

3/31. There will be a gap in licensure and a fine for doing business with no license during

that time.

All supporting documentation including but not limited to Provider Agreement templates if any
responsibilities are delegated and Pharmacy Agreement templates. Please note that any
delegated entities must be Kentucky Licensed prior to the approval of your submitted
renewal.

 Documents to support Section 5 of the application also must be submitted with the application.
The Department requests that the PBM Review Guide -
http://insurance.ky.gov/ppc/Documents/DOI_PBMReviewGuide.pdf - is completed and
submitted with all required information needed for licensure to ensure compliance with federal
and state requirements. This includes specific policies and details such as proof of financial
responsibility.

Where is the completed application including all supporting documentation sent?

Applications and supporting documentation should be sent to Kentucky Department of
Insurance, Health & Life Division, Attn: Health Policy Utilization Review Branch, PO Box 517,
Frankfort, KY 40602 or it may be submitted via email to is

DOI.PharmacyBenefitManager@ky.gov with the PBM License Number included in the Subject
Line for identification purposes.

Can the PBM application or policy updates be filed electronically?

Yes, the Department can receive applications and policy updates as pdf attachments through email.

If the application attachment is large, it will be necessary to separate it into smaller files in order

email. The Department also accepts large applications through MOVEit that is preferable. If your

company does not have a MOVEit account, please send an email request to us at

DOI.UtilizationReview@ky.gov when you are ready to send the application in. The MOVEit system

will create a temporary account for you and send a “Welcome” email with a temporary

password. You will also receive the email that the Department sent, making MOVEit easily

accessible to all Commonwealth clients. Temporary accounts are good for 30 days from last login

by the user. Please include a redline version and a clean copy of any policy or procedure

updates.
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An eServices “Business Entity – License Administrator” account is required to pay the

application fee. Pay these fees under “License Renewal” from the menu. If license renewal is

not completed by 3/31 each year, a penalty fee of $500 is applied.

GENERAL QUESTIONS

Where can I find out information about PBM licensure in Kentucky?

Kentucky Department of Insurance (KDOI) website or Licensing page has information. You can find
documents related to PBM licensure under the Forms and Documents, including the PBM License
Application, PBM Application Guide and PBM Frequently Asked Questions.

Is a Utilization Review (UR) registration number a requirement for PBM licensure? The UR registration
number is on the application and my organization does not perform utilization review.

Any PBM that performs Utilization Review (UR) as defined in KRS 304.17A-600 shall be registered as a
private review agent in accordance with KRS 304.17A-607. If the PBM does not perform UR services for
their clients, then they would not be required to obtain a UR registration. Therefore, the UR registration
number field on the application would be not applicable.

Does Section 3 of the PBM License Application require a person (or persons) be listed?

Section 3 of the PBM License Application requires an individual licensed administrator to be listed as
primary contact responsible for regulatory compliance for the PBM. KRS 304.9-133 requires that one
individual licensed administrator be on file at all times. If the individual administrator license expires,
there is a 30-day limit for re-licensing of this individual, or listing a new licensed administrator.
Therefore, it is prudent to have more than one individual designated as primary contact responsible for
regulatory compliance on behalf of the PBM.

Can a business entity be listed in Section 3 of the PBM License Application?

No, a business entity is not permitted to serve as primary contact for regulatory compliance on behalf of
the PBM. Section 3 of the PBM License Application requires an individual (or individuals) licensed as
administrators to be designated as primary contact(s) responsible for regulatory compliance on behalf of
the PBMs.

What happens when we meet all requirements for PBM License?

Once the license is made active, an email message regarding “active” license status will be sent to the
business email address listed in Section 1 (Demographic Information) of the PBM License Application. A
Kentucky specific identification number (DOI ID) will be issued to the PBM. Please use this DOI ID
number with any and all correspondence related to the PBM.

To create a Kentucky eServices account to access all license details, visit this link on our website:
https://insurance.ky.gov/doieservices/UserRole.aspx.
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Can a paper copy of the PBM license be printed?

Yes. Per industry demand, electronic Services are provided for the licensee’s use in eServices.
Therefore, an authorized individual acting on behalf of the entity must access eServices to print the
license by clicking on Print License located under the reports section on the eServices Menu.

Authorized individuals, acting on behalf of the entity, may create a new eServices user account by
selecting the “Business Entity – Licensing Administrator” account type. These accounts require
Information Technology staff to contact the “Approving Officer/Manager” listed in that section.
Verification for new user accounts may take up to 3 business days.

Is an Annual Report required?

All pharmacy benefit managers licensed to do business in Kentucky shall transmit at least annually by
March 31 to the department a Pharmacy Benefit Manager Annual Report. Please find the Annual Report
here. Or, it can be submitted electronically if you have an eServices account.

eSERVICES QUESTIONS

Is eServices a secure website?

Yes, eServices is a secure website.

How do I access eServices once a username and password has been obtained?

Click on “eServices” from the menu on the Kentucky Department of Insurance Website -
http://insurance.ky.gov/PPC/New_Default.aspx.

An authorized individual acting on behalf of the entity must first create a new eServices user account -
as “Business Entity – Licensing Administrator” account type.

FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY PROOF

What is required as ‘Proof of Financial Responsibility’ with respect to the $1 million?

An insurance policy declarations page showing the details of the Errors and Omissions policy, or surety /
cash bond will serve as proof. Some insurers have a generic form to provide proof of errors and
omissions insurance coverage.
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THIRD PARTY ADMINISTRATOR QUESTIONS

Does a PBM that pays claims need a Third Party Administrator (TPA) license in addition to PBM
license?

The answer to this question depends on what functions the entity performs. Since KDOI is not aware of
every individual function performed by the entity, it is impossible to issue one ‘yes’ or ‘no’ answer to this
question. However, the standard answer is as follows:

Each entity should review the definition of PBM and make determination that every function the
entity performs falls solely under the PBM license. If the entity performs additional functions
that fall outside of the definition of PBM, such as work for others, then the entity may fall
outside of the PBM license authority, and the administrator license would be required in
addition to the PBM License.

Also note: All individuals who will be designated to the PBM license must maintain an active
administrator license in Kentucky.

What happens if the only individual PBM’s TPA license expires?

There is a 30-day limit for re-licensing of this individual, or listing a new licensed administrator. Failure
to maintain a designated individual within this timeline will result in termination of the PBM License,
and will require a new application and fee.

How do individuals apply for TPA license?

License application for individual administrators may be completed through www.NIPR.com, or by paper
application printed from this link:
http://insurance.ky.gov/PPC/Documents/8301IndAppForm061920.pdf. The TPA license fee is $50,
payable to KY State Treasurer.

Kentucky resident individual applicants must order a criminal background report from the Kentucky
Court of Justice website – https://kycourts.gov.

When individual receives the criminal background report, it should be emailed to
DOI.LicensingMail@ky.gov to complete the application process.


